It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:26 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Spa digital dash 
Author Message
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:11 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales
GTM: Libra
Post Spa digital dash
I have the GTM standard dash setup but have been thinking about it for some time now to get the SPA Digital dash. Has anyone fitted one to their own cars?

_________________
Colin


Spin up the Rotrex

GTM Libra Honda 2.0l rotrex type r
BMW 435d M Sport x drive
BMW 320d M Sport


Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:34 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:06 pm
Posts: 351
Post Re: Spa digital dash
I think Mike Ross on TGTM built his with the SPA dash + 2 Aux gauges. Looked nice but knocking on £1000 not cheap!

It could have been Mike Rouse?

GTM under RDM did tout it as an option for a while. I don't know how many were built with it though.


Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:55 pm
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:11 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales
GTM: Libra
Post Re: Spa digital dash
I just really like it :D

_________________
Colin


Spin up the Rotrex

GTM Libra Honda 2.0l rotrex type r
BMW 435d M Sport x drive
BMW 320d M Sport


Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:16 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 8:44 am
Posts: 616
Location: Chester le Street
Post Re: Spa digital dash
No experience of the SPA dash but I'm using a Koso in my UVA and I'm very pleased with it. Especially the ease of re-calibrating the speedo and so on.

_________________
GRP rules!


Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:16 pm
Profile
GTM delivered

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:34 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Aberdeenshire
GTM: Libra
Post Re: Spa digital dash
Roger is correct I (Mike Ross) fitted them to my car... Yes, expensive but at the time I was sort of thinking I was probably only ever going to build 1 kit car so I'd do it properly! 8)
If you go to the Teamgtm.com and try refreshing a few times, sometimes my interior comes up on the banner picture at the top where you can see them. Obviously you could save a bit and not have the aux gauges, the main unit has more than enough inputs (and comes with all the cables and sensors you could need) I just like having dedicated easy to see ones for the important stuff.
As I remember it all connected to the car without much fuss, used the existing speed cable etc.


Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:27 pm
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:11 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales
GTM: Libra
Post Re: Spa digital dash
Cheers, I'll take look now

The only concern I had is the speedo. spa design believe I must use an additional hall sensor off the driveshaft but I really don't want to do that and want to use what I have already which I think will suitable with a 5v output

_________________
Colin


Spin up the Rotrex

GTM Libra Honda 2.0l rotrex type r
BMW 435d M Sport x drive
BMW 320d M Sport


Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:52 pm
Profile E-mail
GTM delivered

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:34 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Aberdeenshire
GTM: Libra
Post Re: Spa digital dash
Yeah, that's right I think the sensor for putting on the driveshaft comes with the kit anyway however like you I just wanted to use the existing wiring that already went through the car. I seem to remember splicing the cable into their cable at the instruments fairly easily using the wiring info that comes with the kit.

Then the only thing is that their speedo is expecting 1 pulse for every revolution of the wheel and the K-series sensor sends several pulses per revolution. But that is easily fixed when setting up the instruments by telling it the wheels are 4 times smaller than they are to compensate for it receiving 4 pulses per revolution. (I think it was 4 but yours might be different anyway being the Honda?)

I was a bit nervous about that at my SVA test as I hadn't had a chance to verify the reading using GPS or whatever but it came out bang on. :D
(and even if it didn't it would have been a 1 minute job in the menu's to adjust it)


Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:19 am
Profile E-mail
Part built GTM

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:05 pm
Posts: 129
Post Re: Spa digital dash
I think if you have a 5V level pulse this should just feed straight may need to check if the input has a pull up/down resistor and make sure it does not affect your 5V signal. If altering the wheel size in the program does not solve the problem a divide by 4 counter is simple to implement


Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:40 am
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:11 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales
GTM: Libra
Post Re: Spa digital dash
Cheers all, I'll place the order first thing Tuesday morning for the spa dash system.
I'm sure I'll figure it out anyways, it can't be that difficult.

What makes it worse I'm an electrician so it will look bad if I blow it up :roll:

_________________
Colin


Spin up the Rotrex

GTM Libra Honda 2.0l rotrex type r
BMW 435d M Sport x drive
BMW 320d M Sport


Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:36 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.

phpBB SEO