It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:39 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
PG1 gearchange 
Author Message
Part built GTM

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 10:56 pm
Posts: 142
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
The MGF cable setup does fit the K3 without shortening the cables and as there is no tunnel in a K3 (floppy floor!) you can build your own tunnel. I have used all of the MGF bracketry resulting in a tall housing and the gearstick is just short of the dashboard in first and third. My creation looks ugly and I will probably re engineer it when I get back in the garage but for the moment it works. I will post some pics shortly.
Peter.


Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:04 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Sounds like it may be relatively simple on the K3 then. Hope so anyway.

Here is the pic of the mods I made to my MGF selector to make it narrow enough to fit in the tunnel and to extend the cables by around 75mm
Image

Here is how much I've got to move in the tunnel to fit it in, this is without the main rad flow/return pipes
Image


Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:51 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:27 am
Posts: 404
Location: Sheffield
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
So your modded bracket won't fit in the tunnel without moving all the pipes n cables? Is it that much wider than the rods - can you show a pic of the rods bracket and cable one side by side to show the difference please?

SAS

_________________
2000 GTM Libra 1.8VVC 145BHP


Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:43 pm
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:12 am
Posts: 153
Location: Derbyshire
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
hello Sanzomat
The modification looks too big to fit around other things in the tunnel the lowest part on mine is the ball socket on the cable end this just misses the rad pipe The cable clamp for the outer cables on the gtm part has the centres closer together to get the cables nearer the centre of the tunnel to miss the rad pipes I have a build manual with different suggested routes for services in tunnel for rod or cable change I can post a paper copy and scale drawing of my bracket if you think it would be any help pm your address if you need it


Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:35 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
I've now got the VVC engine and PG1 box physically in the car and can confirm that with the later gearbox end (the facing forwards version) and the earlier MGF cables you don't need to extend the length of the shorter cable. With the facing back gearbox end you would though. As such I've cut the extended bracket I added to the selector end back off again and trimmed off some of the excess metal around where the cables join. Its still going to be very tight in the tunnel! Next job is to relocate the pipes and wires...


Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:27 am
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
mark h wrote:
hello Sanzomat
The modification looks too big to fit around other things in the tunnel the lowest part on mine is the ball socket on the cable end this just misses the rad pipe The cable clamp for the outer cables on the gtm part has the centres closer together to get the cables nearer the centre of the tunnel to miss the rad pipes I have a build manual with different suggested routes for services in tunnel for rod or cable change I can post a paper copy and scale drawing of my bracket if you think it would be any help pm your address if you need it


Thanks Mark. Have sent you a PM.


Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:31 am
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Sanz - this information is gold....

So if I'm reading this right I think that with an MGTF rear bellcrank / selector fitted to my gearbox I can use MGF (not TF) long and short cables unmodified to an adapted MGF gearchange bracket / mechanism.

I hope I have this right?

Also, it seems I have the cable location sorted at the gearbox end by the two GTM brackets shown in my previous post? Or do I need std MGTF cable location brackets?

If this is right I'm going to order a Mike Satur bellcrank and slick shift mechanism, a pair of MGF cables and get to work... :D :D


Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:04 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Mark H - bit cheeky but could I have a copy of your layouts as well? I'll send a PM.

Cheers

Jamie


Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:31 pm
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:12 am
Posts: 153
Location: Derbyshire
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
hello Jamie
no problem just pm your address I will try to remove mine tomorrow night to take measurements and will draw around cable clamp will try to get in post so you both should get it by weekend no so good with computer so better for me to draw it full size then post it hope it will be some help to you both


Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:53 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Thanks Mark, you're an absolute gent.

PM sent.

Cheers

Jamie


Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:14 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Jaykart1227 wrote:
Sanz - this information is gold....

So if I'm reading this right I think that with an MGTF rear bellcrank / selector fitted to my gearbox I can use MGF (not TF) long and short cables unmodified to an adapted MGF gearchange bracket / mechanism.

I hope I have this right?

Also, it seems I have the cable location sorted at the gearbox end by the two GTM brackets shown in my previous post? Or do I need std MGTF cable location brackets?

If this is right I'm going to order a Mike Satur bellcrank and slick shift mechanism, a pair of MGF cables and get to work... :D :D


Can't comment on the GTM brackets at the gearbox end but if they put the cable outer in the right place to work the forward facing bell crank then that should be okay.


Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:27 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
I'll have to do a mock up and see how it fits. I have it in the back of my mind that the GTM gearbox bracket required you to extend the short cable at the gearbox end?

Maybe not if you use the MGTF bellcrank?

Sanz - have you used the standard MGF gearbox cable holding brackets?


Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Jaykart1227 wrote:
Sanz - have you used the standard MGF gearbox cable holding brackets?


Yes. I had two PG1 gearboxes. One was from a 2003 1.6 MEMS 3 MGTF (gearbox code C6BP) and one from a 1998 1.8VVC MEMS 2J MGF (gearbox code C4BP). I also had the cables and selector from the '98 MGF.

The TF box had the forward facing bellcrank and the cable outer mounting bracket to suit.

I wanted to use the C4BP box because the ratios suit the VVC engine better. The actual gear ratios are identical but the C4BP has a lower final drive ratio so lower overall gearing.

I simply took the bellcrank and the bottom cable outer mounting bracket off the TF box and swapped them onto the F box. The threaded holes for both are on both gearbox casings but you need to use the bolts that were with the bracket as the bolt sizes are different.

From what I've learnt the TF uses a shorter short cable to match the revised bell crank so the longer F cable combined with the TF bell crank gives you the length you need (might actually be a bit too long, about 3cm, but the slack can be taken out with a slight deviation along the run.


Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:54 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Thanks Sanzomat - great info as usual.

I think I'll see how it lines up with the brackets I have but suspect that I'll have to get a TF bracket as you've done.

Cheers

Jamie


Thu Dec 17, 2015 10:23 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
You sometimes see PG1 boxes for sale for as little as £30 - I think they outlast the engines/rest of the car so there is surplus supply so low prices! Might be worth buying a whole gearbox just to get the bellcrank and brackets!


Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:42 am
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.

phpBB SEO