It is currently Mon Feb 18, 2019 5:56 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
PG1 gearchange 
Author Message
Ready for SVA

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 439
GTM: Libra
Post PG1 gearchange
I am converting from metro gearbox to MGF PG1 gearbox with cable change to replace the rod hopefully?I am after infomation regarding doing this conversion I have a mgf gearchange assembly, can I use this if so how or do I need to get the change from GTM.
Thanks Matthew


Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:30 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:06 pm
Posts: 364
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Yes you can use the MGF stuff.

The counter weight needs to be cut off and the lever bracket heavily modded to fit in the tunnel. GTM make a smaller one so it fits in the tunnel.

I wouldn't use the MGF gearchange. At least one person I know has ditched the MGF in favour of the Elise set up. They found the MGF to be as bad as the rattle rods!

If you are prepared to throw some money at it then Mike Satur does a Billet mech that works well. Dave Boud has used that in his VHPD Libra

Mike Satur

Image


Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:59 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:32 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Norfolk
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Hi I no it's been a long time since this post . I'm thinking of doing this to my k3. can you help what would I need to do this . would I need to change the gearbox. I do not no wich box I have all I do no it has the rods I get that I would have to change the gearchange but how do you fix the cables to the box.

thanks

_________________
paul
Member No 1320


Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:35 pm
Profile E-mail
Part built GTM

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 10:56 pm
Posts: 142
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Hi, If you have the metro box it should have a lever and a large bob weight on the top, if it is a PG1 box it will have brackets on the rear face. One cable goes over the top of the gearbox and clips onto the top bracket and the other cable goes underneath the engine and locates in the bottom bracket. MGF cables just push on to the ball joints on the levers.
Peter.


Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:10 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:32 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Norfolk
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
hi
I have the metro box with the large bob weight on the top.
have i got this right
the metro R65U Gearbox work in the same way as the pg1 box
is it just the way you fix the cables to it

_________________
paul
Member No 1320


Mon Dec 16, 2013 8:38 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:32 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Norfolk
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Quote:
The counter weight needs to be cut off and the lever bracket heavily modded to fit in the tunnel. GTM make a smaller one so it fits in the tunnel.


can anyone help with this .
do you have any photos of the gtm one or a drawings
of how this was this done
thanks

_________________
paul
Member No 1320


Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:37 pm
Profile E-mail
GTM delivered

Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 8:58 pm
Posts: 49
Post PG1 box to K3
I think the answer is No. The Metro box linkages are significantly different, and operate above the box, whereas the PG1 is actuated from below. If you have an MGF sourced PG1, then it should/may have the requisite brackets to anchor the cables, but if you have an ex-ZR, R25 or VI box, then it won't, and you will need to get hold of the correct MGF abutments, or fabricate your own. GTM used to supply the appropriate parts, together with the cradle to fit the cut-down MGF selector. The cradle is pretty simple, being, largely, a box with no top or bottom - the selector mechanism fits neatly inside the "box", then the box is secured to the tunnel. Of course, my own experience relates to the Libra, but the principle is the same for the K3, though from memory the tunnel in the K3 is shallower. You will have to modify the MGF cables - in the Libra they have to be lengthened, in the K3.......??


Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:18 am
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:32 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Norfolk
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
thanks cubera for the replay sorry i should have said I am converting from metro gearbox to MGF PG1 gearbox I now have a pg1 box with cable change to replace the rods
I was looking for some photos of the cut-down MGF selector.I believe The counter weight needs to be cut off the lever bracket
The cradle GTM used sound simple to make it would be nice just to see one so i can make my own own

thanks for your time

_________________
paul
Member No 1320


Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:16 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
I'd like to get a look at the at bracket as well. I'm going to convert my newly acquired Libra from rods to cable and the previous owner wasobviously thinking of doing the same, the car came with the brackets shown below:

Not sure if the black gearbox brackets are rover or GTM? The gearshift housing looks like a std MGF with the front cut off? I'd love to see a picture of how the bracket needs to be modified to fit the libra tunnel (presume the k3 would be similar). From what I've read here the short cable needs lengthening as well or can you just use two long cables?

Be watching this with interest as I can't live with the gearchange quality at the moment.


Attachments:
Gearchange.JPG
Gearchange.JPG [ 168.68 KiB | Viewed 5499 times ]
Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:31 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Attachment:
cable_shift.jpg
cable_shift.jpg [ 25.09 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]

Attachment:
cable_shift_in2.jpg
cable_shift_in2.jpg [ 16.05 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]

Attachment:
cable_shift_in3.jpg
cable_shift_in3.jpg [ 18.37 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]

Attachment:
cable_shiftc1.jpg
cable_shiftc1.jpg [ 25.05 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]

Attachment:
cable_shiftc2.jpg
cable_shiftc2.jpg [ 27.29 KiB | Viewed 5484 times ]


Here you go. These might help. I can't remember where I found these but they are on the net somewhere. The last two show the GTM supplied cradle next to the MGF one.

Not sure how wide the tunnel is on the K3 but to fit the tunnel on a Libra/Spyder the side flanges of the MGF bracket need to be cut off. I also cut off the front set of cable mounts as you only need the back ones. If you need to lengthen the cables then you can extend the cable outer mountings back using the "front" ones you cut off fixed further back. I used the side flanges as a bit of now spare steel to weld the bracket further back and extended the inners with bits of M6 threaded rod and stud connectors. I've got a photo on my camera showing what I made (but my camera is in the car in my MiL's garage right now).

The other problem is how much stuff there already is in the tunnel. the yellow one in these pics is fitting the cable change bracket first so nothing in the way! On mine the pipes and wires are fitted high to avoid the rod change but I need to move these all downwards to get the bracket in. All the pipes and wires are P clipped with bolts through the side of the tunnel so I've had to strip back the carpet and underlay to get to the bolts. Some are very hard to get to!!


Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:41 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Oh yeah, The bob weight does need to be cut off as is would hit every speed hump! I think it is only there to help self centering and to give the lever some momentum to help the changes. Some people use springs on the mech to help the self centering.

On the GTM bracket the MGF innards are transfered over so what you end up with isn't much different to a cut down MGF anyway.

Re lengthening the short cable - I'll find out in the next week or so. I believe that you do need to lengthen the shorter cable when using the older MGF gearbox but I've now discovered that the later (MGTF) gearboxes have different brackets on the gear box and the bottom selector sticks forwards rather than back on the older ones. I'm starting to think that with the later version the cable may not need extending if you use MGF cables (not TF) with a TF gearbox (or just use the bracket from a TF box as they are interchangeable)


Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:49 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:10 pm
Posts: 765
Location: Bristol
GTM: Spyder
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
MGTF Style gearbox end bracket
Attachment:
cable_shift_gearbox.jpg
cable_shift_gearbox.jpg [ 26.77 KiB | Viewed 5483 times ]


MGF Style gearbox end bracket
Attachment:
MGF PG1 Selector.jpg
MGF PG1 Selector.jpg [ 167.8 KiB | Viewed 5483 times ]


Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:55 pm
Profile E-mail
Looking like a GTM

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 1:12 am
Posts: 153
Location: Derbyshire
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Hello jaykart 1227
The parts you have in the picture are ones I sold to the last owner a few years ago. The black parts are gtm made parts to hold the outer cables at the gearbox end the cut off rusty part was to cut down to make the gtm size part for the gear lever that gtm would no longer supply .I sold them because the because my car has a Honda 1.6 engine so they won't fit my car. I had cut a bit off the mgf bracket to modify my gtm part to make it work with 2 long cables I have pictures but not any help with your engine/gearbox


Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:13 pm
Profile E-mail
Ready for SVA
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:32 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Norfolk
GTM: K3
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
the cables on the k3 are inside the car so it doesn't have a tunnel so i think all i need is to cut the bob weight of but this will make the gear stick very high i will have to see how this works out

_________________
paul
Member No 1320


Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:36 pm
Profile E-mail
On the Road

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:32 pm
Posts: 541
GTM: Libra
Post Re: PG1 gearchange
Thanks for the pics and advice on this chaps, it looks like I've got the gearbox end sorted with the two GTM brackets; I'll have to have a look and see what I've got on my gearbox at present - I'm told its an MGF 160 engine but can't really be sure, if it is it should look like the pictures you have Sanz.

Mark H - what a small world! Sounds like I just need to bastardise the MGF bracket to fit in the tunnel (I'm planning to fit Mick Satur innards).

Just need to sort out cables? Be interested to see if you do need to lengthen your short cable Sanz. If not great, if so I suppose its lengthen the cable inner and fabricate some way of holding the outer further back than the std (modified) bracket.

OR, can you use two long cables and forget the shorter one? Can you get the cable made up to the correct length by a specialist?

Hmmmmm.........


Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:45 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.

phpBB SEO